Jackson Browne contributes two songs to upcoming collaborative benefit album to aid Haitians in need

Artists for Peace and Justice/Arts Music Inc.

Jackson Browne is one of a variety of international musicians and songwriters artists who have contributed their talents to a charity album titled Let the Rhythm Lead: Haiti Song Summit Vol. 1, which will be released on January 31, 2020.

Browne co-wrote a pair of songs for the album, “Surrender” and “Love Is Love,” and the latter tune has just been released as a digital download and via streaming services.

The album also features American indie-rock artists Jenny Lewis, Jonathan Wilson and The Head and the Heart‘s Jonathan Russell; Malian guitarist Habib Koité; Spanish guitarist Raúl Rodríguez; Haitian multi-instrumentalist Paul Beaubrun; and members of the Haitian roots band Lakou Mizik.

Let the Rhythm Lead will raise money for the nonprofit organization Artists for Peace and Justice, which seeks to help Haiti’s poorest communities via education and healthcare programs and other means. The album, which can be pre-ordered now, was recorded at the organization’s Artists Institute in the Haitian town of Jacmel.

You can check out a video for “Love Is Love” at Browne’s official YouTube channel. Jackson says he wrote the song about three years ago with filmmaker and educator David Belle.

“[The song was] inspired by the beauty and resilience of the Haitian people, and the farsighted and soulful work of Artists for Peace and Justice in Haiti since the 2010 earthquake,” says Browne.

He adds, “‘Love Is Love’ contains some of my immediate impressions of Haiti, but especially the spirit I saw there in the faces of families, children, and lovers, as they take on the challenges of rebuilding their country in the face of multiple disasters.”

Here is the full track list of Let the Rhythm Lead: Haiti Song Summit Vol. 1:

“Lapé, Lanmou (Peace and Love)” — written by Jonathan Wilson and Jenny Lewis
“Love Is Love” — written by Jackson Browne and David Belle
“Surrender” — written by Paul Beaubrun and Jackson Browne
“Under the Supermoon” — written by Jenny Lewis
“Let the Rhythm Lead” — written by Raúl Rodríguez
“Goddess at the Wheel” — written by Jonathan Wilson
“Koulandian” — adapted by Habib Koité
“Saving Grace” — written by Jonathan Russell and Kathryn Everett
“El Viajero” — written by Raúl Rodríguez
“Simbi Dlo” — adapted by Paul Beaubrun
“I Found Out” — written by Jonathan Russell

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.