The Band's debut, “Music from Big Pink,” turns 50 on Sunday; deluxe reissues of album due in August

Capitol/UMeThis Sunday, July 1, marks the 50th anniversary of the release of The Band‘s landmark debut album, Music from Big Pink, and to commemorate the milestone, expanded reissues of the record will hit stores on August 31.

The 50th Anniversary Edition of the roots-rock masterpiece features a new stereo mix of the album, and will be available in multiple formats and configurations:  a single CD, a black-vinyl and pink-vinyl two-LP set, a digital download, and a Super Deluxe box set featuring the CD, the black-vinyl LPs, a high-res Blu-ray audio disc, a 7-inch vinyl single and more.

Music from Big Pink emerged from writing sessions at the pink house the group’s members rented near Woodstock, New York, where they recorded the famed Basement Tapes demos with Bob Dylan. It included the classic “The Weight,” and memorable tunes like “Tears of Rage,” “Chest Fever,” “This Wheel’s On Fire” and the Dylan cover “I Shall Be Released.”

In fact, Bob Dylan co-wrote “Tears of Rage” and “This Wheel’s On Fire,” and even painted the album’s cover.

The Music from Big Pink reissue features several bonus tracks, including alternate takes of two album cuts, three outtakes and a previously unreleased a cappella version of “I Shall Be Released.”

The box set includes a hardbound book featuring an essay by rock journalist David Fricke and photos by Elliott Landy. The seven-inch single is a reproduction of the original 1968 single featuring “The Weight” and “I Shall Be Released.”

Those who pre-order the reissue will immediately receive a free download of the new stereo mix of “The Weight.” The track also is available for purchase digitally and via streaming services.

Here’s the Music from Big Pink reissue track list:

“Tears of Rage”
“To Kingdom Come”
“In a Station”
“Caledonia Mission”
“The Weight”
“We Can Talk”
“Long Black Veil”
“Chest Fever”
“Lonesome Suzie”
“This Wheel’s On Fire”
“I Shall Be Released”

Bonus Tracks:
“Yazoo Street Scandal” (Outtake)
“Tears of Rage” (Alternate Take)
“Long Distance Operator” (Outtake)
“Lonesome Suzie” (Alternate Take)
“Key to the Highway” (Outtake)
“I Shall Be Released” (A Cappella)

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.